Texas Paralegal Division Blog

Bringing you the vision and actions of the TXPD.

  • PD Mission

    To enhance paralegals' participation in the administration of justice, professional responsibility and public service in cooperation with the State Bar and to provide a state-wide organization for communication between paralegals in the State.
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    Webinar to train par… on Free Paralegal Division Webina…
    Mary Wintermote on PD DISTRICT 3 SPRING FLING A…
    district2dir on District 2 Member Appreciation…
    PD President on Be Part of the Elite – P…
    Suzanne on Be Part of the Elite – P…

Megan Goor, TBLS-BCP Elected President-Elect 2018-2019

Posted by Texas Paralegal Division Blogger at blog@txpd.org on February 15, 2018

The Paralegal Division is proud to announce that Megan Goor, TBLS-BCP has been elected as the 2018-2019 President Elect.

Megan Goor, TBLS-BCP
Personal Injury Trial Law
The Brender Law Firm
600 8th Ave.
Fort Worth, Texas 76104
(817) 334-0171

Professional background: Senior Paralegal and Office Manager at The Brender Law Firm, located in the medical district of Fort Worth. Employed with Art Brender since 1983, after starting a career in the legal field as a legal secretary in 1982 for another law firm. While working for Art Brender, obtained a B.A. from the University of Texas at Arlington. The Brender Law Firm is a general law practice. Experience includes personal injury, product liability, insurance bad faith, criminal, civil rights, probate, medical negligence, mass torts, class actions, sexual harassment, and employment discrimination cases from intake through trial and appellate litigation, including two cases before the United States Supreme Court, Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust, 487 U.S. 977, and Trevino v. Texas, 503 U.S. 562.

Professional certification: Board Certified Paralegal in Personal Injury Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization (2008)

Professional affiliations and appointments: Active Member of the Paralegal Division of the State Bar of Texas, Active Member of the Fort Worth Paralegal Association; Paralegal Affiliate Member of AAJ; and an Associate Member of the Tarrant County Bar Association.

Ambassador and Immediate Past President of the Paralegal Division; President (2016-2017); and Director of District 3 (2012-2015). Served as the 2017 Texas Advanced Paralegal Seminar (“TAPS”) Chair and past TAPS Planning Committees; Parliamentarian (2014–2015), former Board Advisor to the Pro Bono Committee, Annual Meeting Committee, and Vendor Liaison Ad Hoc Committee, and former Liaison to the Texas Young Lawyers Association and the American Bar Association. Served as the Fort Worth Paralegal Association’s Professional Development Chair and as the SBOT Liaison to the Paralegal Division. Awarded the Fort Worth Paralegal Association’s Paralegal of the Year 2014 Award.

As Editor of the Texas Paralegal Journal, currently serves as the Paralegal Division’s Publications Chair.

Appointed by the State Bar of Texas to the Texas Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee (2017-2020).

Other: Served as Advancement Chair and Committee Member of Boy Scouts of America, Cub Scouts, Pack 9 (2008–2013), and Committee Member on the Vision Committee 2013 of St. Paul Lutheran Church.

11-15-2010 10-18-35 AM

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: